That One Day When I Met My Reflection: A Little Note About Kathie Jo

You know that feeling you get when you meet someone and know that you will be best friends forever? Not just friends, but BEST friends.
When I met Kathie Jo Lawrence (Towe at that time), I knew. The first thing I noticed was how beautiful her hair was…it was this gorgeous red color that glowed like the fireball that I found her to be. She was everything I knew I could be, but kept hidden: Fiery, funny, bold, sweet with these piercing blue eyes and wild humor. She was not like anyone I had ever met.
We worked at a child care center together in Indianapolis. I had 2 children at the time. She was still single, no dependents and her interaction with the kids was, well, full of love, but definitely not motherly. Oh, my gosh! I am laughing to tears as I write this! Some of the things she said to those 3-year-olds were unbelievable and yet, so loving. (Kathie, do you remember?!)
When I found out I was pregnant with my third child I was traumatized. Kathie was there. Laughing as only a true best friend will do. I did not want a third child, yet, because my 2nd child was only 4 months old at that time! We took our lunch break and she drove me to the drugstore to buy a pregnancy test. I bought 4. They were all positive. I was in such denial. Kathie came to my classroom and laughed as she rubbed my back telling me it would be ok. “I guess you gonna have another baby, girl”. God I love her.
So many memories are running through my brain right now. The house on St. Peter with the little Children of the Corn neighbors, Kathie’s nephews (and the dance…POOF!) Doris in the infant room. One of baby Erin’s birthday parties. Kathie bringing my daughter to my classroom with a jaw full of peas (she had eaten the spaghetti around the peas Kathie had hidden in it), and last, but not least, Michael Jackson playing at naptime in her classroom.
We lost about 10 years of contact due to extenuating circumstances (remember when you thought he had buried me under the house?). Time marched on, but our friendship never died. We literally picked up where we left off, but she had added a husband and baby girl to our crew. Not long after my diagnosis, she showed up at my door with her husband and daughter and solidified what I always knew. Not often, if ever, do you meet someone who is your true reflection. We have been best friends for over 20 years and I know the best years are yet to come!

2 thoughts on “That One Day When I Met My Reflection: A Little Note About Kathie Jo

Add yours

  1. OMGOSH tears 😢😢😢😢
    Laughter yet also tears of love, wow all those memories it’s still hard to believe thru all the sad times we’ve shared soooo much GOOD and tons of laughs. You showed up at Jason’s funeral and that is truly what kept me going that day!!!! I love you to the moon and am so proud I can call you not only my best friend but SISTER!!!!!! ❤❤❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

